Knowledge Base

HubSpot User Roles Guide (es-la)

Written by HubSpot Support | Jan 1, 1970, 5:00:00 AM

Use the charts and information below to determine which HubSpot user permissions are right for each of your users. Depending on the products available in your account, you can give your users permissions for different areas within HubSpot. These will appear in separate sections in the user permissions dialog box (Account Menu > Settings > Users > Add User): 

Please note that Marketing user roles are available for Professional and Enterprise subscriptions only. Basic users will all be set to Administrators. If you have enabled the Reporting Add-on, you will see Reporting.

Account

In this section, you can choose to set your user as an Account administrator or give No access to accounts. Account Administrators can add, remove, and edit users across all products available on the account. They will also be able to modify billing and product configuration. (Please note: to add, remove, or edit a Sales Pro user, this can only be done by the Sales Pro Billing Admin.)

If you have access to the HubSpot Marketing Product and the CRM you will also have the option to assign product-specific administrator permissions as noted in the sections below. 


Marketing Product

HubSpot Tool User Role
Dashboard Administrator Marketer Content Creator Business Analyst Blog Publisher Blog Author

Dashboard

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

Personas

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Content

Administrator

Marketer

Content Creator

Business Analyst

Blog Publisher

Blog Author

Landing Pages
Site Pages

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Blog

✔

✔

✔

 

✔

✔

Email

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Calls-to-Action

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Campaigns

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Calendar

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Template Marketplace

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Content Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

File Manager

✔

✔

✔

 

 ✔

 ✔

Design Manager

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Social Media

Administrator

Marketer

Content Creator

Business Analyst

Blog Publisher

Blog Author

Inbox
Monitoring
Publishing
Reach
Social Settings

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Contacts

Administrator

Marketer

Content Creator

Business Analyst

Blog Publisher

Blog Author

Contacts Home

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Prospects*

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Lists

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Imports

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Workflows

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Forms

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Contacts Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Reports

Administrator

Marketer

Content Creator

Business Analyst

Blog Publisher

Blog Author

Reports Home

✔

✔

 

✔

 

 

Sources

✔

✔

 

✔

 

 

Page Performance

✔

✔

 

✔

 

 

Keywords

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Competitors

✔

✔

 

✔

 

 

Events

✔

✔

 

✔

 

 

Reports Settings

✔

✔

 

✔

 

 

Settings

Administrator

Marketer

Content Creator

Business Analyst

Blog Publisher

Blog Author

My Profile

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

Company & Billing Info

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

User Settings
User Notifications

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Native Integrations

Administrator

Marketer

Content Creator

Business Analyst

Blog Publisher

Blog Author

Salesforce Settings

✔

 

 

 

 

 

EventBrite Settings

✔

✔

✔

 

✔

✔

GoTo Webinar Settings

✔ ✔ ✔   ✔ ✔

Survey Monkey Settings

✔

✔

✔

 

✔

✔

Wistia Settings

✔

✔

✔

 

✔

✔


  • Administrators can add other users, set permissions, and access all Dashboards, tools, analytics, and settings. You can set write and publish, write only, or read only permissions for this user role for each of the content tools: Blog, Landing Pages, Site Pages, and Email. Please note that permission to write and publish emails is required to activate workflows.
  • Marketers have the same access as Administrators, but cannot add users or set other users’ permissions. You can set write and publish, write only, or read only permissions for this user role for each of the content tools: Blog, Landing Pages, Site Pages, and Email. Please note that permission to write and publish emails is required to activate workflows.
  • Content Creators have access to the Blog, Design Manager, Calls-To-Action, Social Media, Keywords, and the Blog module on the Dashboard. They can create, edit, and publish content on the Blog and linked Social Media accounts. You can set Write and Publish, Write only, or Read only permissions for the blog for this user role. 
  • Business Analysts have access to the Marketing Performance module of the Dashboard and reporting tools, including Sources, Competitors, and Reports Settings (on Enterprise accounts, these users also have access to Events).
  • Blog Publishers can draft, edit, and publish posts on the blog and access the Blog module on the Dashboard.
  • Blog Authors can draft and edit posts on the blog, but are not authorized to publish posts. They can also access the Blog module on the Dashboard.
Please note: Only users with access to Contacts can be assigned as HubSpot Owners.
If you have the HubSpot CRM enabled, there are advanced permissions that may affect users' access to contacts and lists within the Marketing platform as well; see more information on Sales Product user roles and permissions below. 

 

Sales Product

HubSpot Tool User Role
Sales Sales Administrator Sales Manager Sales User Sales Pro User
Contacts ✔ ✔ ✔  
Delete Records ✔ ✔ ✔   
Companies ✔ ✔ ✔  
Deals ✔ ✔ ✔  
Tasks ✔ ✔ ✔  
Sales Content ✔ ✔ ✔  
Settings ✔ ✔ ✔  
Default Portal Properties ✔ ✔     
Salesforce Settings ✔

 

 

 
User Settings ✔      
User Notifications ✔

 

   
Sales Tools Sales Administrator Sales Manager Sales User Sales Pro User

Notifications

 ✔ ✔  ✔  ✔ 

Templates

      ✔

Sequences

      ✔

Documents

      ✔

Prospects*

✔ ✔ ✔ ✔

Meetings

     

✔

Call Queue

     

✔

*Prospects is available to any Marketing user who also has access to the HubSpot CRM as well as CRM-only users who are using HubSpot Sales Professional.

  • Sales Administrators can access all parts of the HubSpot sales tools, add and remove other sales users, delete records, and set portal default properties. You can grant or deny access to CRM Features (Companies, Deals, and Tasks) and set View, Edit, Bulk Delete, Import, Export, and Edit Property Settings permissions for this user role. 
  • Sales Managers can access the HubSpot sales tools, delete records, and set portal default properties. You can grant or deny access to CRM Features (Companies, Deals, and Tasks) and set View, Edit, Bulk Delete, Import, Export, and Edit Property Settings permissions for this user role. 
  • Sales Users can access the HubSpot sales tools and delete records, but cannot set portal default properties. You can grant or deny access to CRM Features (Companies, Deals, and Tasks) and set View, Edit, Bulk Delete, Import, Export, and Edit Property Settings permissions for this user role. 
  • Sales Pro Users can access any of the Sales Tools for HubSpot Sales Professional. If you have HubSpot Sales Professional and are adding a new user to your team, this option will appear. 

Please note: Users with a View permissions setting of Owned Only will only be presented with contact records for which they are assigned as the HubSpot Owner within the Contacts dashboard, All Contacts, and Lists in the Sales and Marketing product; however, they can still view a contact that is not owned by them if they are sent a direct link to the contact. 

If any of your user's advanced Sales permissions (View, Edit, Bulk Delete, Import, Export or Edit Property Settings) are disabled and this user also has access to the Marketing platform, that action will be disabled for Contacts and Lists within the Marketing platform as well. Read more about Sales permissions here.


Reporting Add-on

  • All HubSpot Marketing users who are Account Administrators, Marketing Administrators, or Sales Administrators will automatically be Reporting Administrators as well.
  • Administrators can change the owner of any team dashboard.
  • Learn more about the Reporting Add-on.


Ads Add-on

  • All HubSpot Marketing users who are Account Administrators, Marketing Administrators, or Business Analysts will be able to access the Ads Add-on.

Partner Account

  • A user designated as a Marketing Administrator and Partner employee has access to partner tools in HubSpot and ensures that the user's HubSpot certification counts toward the certification number listed on your partner directory profile. 

 

Giving a user no access to any products will effectively delete the user. All users must have access to at least one product in some way to continue existing as a user.