Once you turn on Sensitive Data in your HubSpot account, certain tools have unique considerations or behavior when using Sensitive Data. In this article, learn more about where Sensitive Data can be used and how to properly manage it within each tool.
For more information about Sensitive Data, refer to the Sensitive Data terms page. To learn how to turn on Sensitive Data and create Sensitive Data properties, refer to this article.
Please note: Sensitive Data is not supported in some tools, including chatbots, personalization tokens, playbooks, and sandboxes. Highly Sensitive Data is further restricted and can only be used in certain scenarios.
All the following sections apply to Sensitive Data, but only some of the listed tools are supported for Highly Sensitive Data. Highly Sensitive Data can only be used in the following scenarios:
Once you’ve created a property to store Sensitive Data:
Please note: if downgrading from an Enterprise subscription with Sensitive Data turned on:
Users with access to a Sensitive Data property can update the property’s values manually or via import and workflows. If your account allows HubSpot employees access to troubleshoot support issues, HubSpot employees will not have access to view Sensitive Data property values.
For Highly Sensitive Data properties, users with access to the property’s values must click to decrypt to view or edit the value. For example:
With the ability to store Sensitive Data and Highly Sensitive Data, you can store files containing sensitive information in tools across HubSpot. Once you turn on the Sensitive Data setting, attachments uploaded in the below ways will be protected by an additional layer of encryption in HubSpot’s database storage. This will also remove the option to share files externally without authentication, and will disallow HubSpot employees from accessing the attachments.
When added via the following methods, files will be protected:
You can control user access to attachments through permissions for each tool. For example, you can restrict access to contacts for specific users who shouldn’t have access to contact files.
Please note: files will not be protected in the following scenarios:
Breeze, HubSpot’s AI, can help you automate tasks, gather data insights, draft content, and more across the HubSpot customer platform. Only users with Super Admin permissions can turn on certain AI tools, such as AI Assistants.
If you turn on Sensitive Data, the Sensitive Data properties that you create will not be used to train HubSpot’s AI models. However, other Customer Data within your account may be used to train HubSpot’s AI models. You may opt-out of having your Customer Data used for machine learning by emailing privacy@hubspot.com. For more information, please review HubSpot’s Terms of Service and HubSpot’s Privacy Policy
Please note: Please avoid sharing any sensitive information in your enabled data inputs for AI features, including your prompts. Admins can configure generative AI features in account management settings. For information on how HubSpot AI uses your data to provide trustworthy AI, with you in control of your data, you can refer to our HubSpot AI Trust FAQs.
HubSpot’s AI Products are not part of the Sensitive Data features. Certain AI Products may process Sensitive Data which you may not have intended to include when generating results based on the prompt entered. These tools include:
For example, if you discuss Sensitive Data during a conversation, you should not use the Conversations Summaries tool. While you may not have intended to input Sensitive Data in your prompt, the Conversation Summaries tool would process all content in the conversation.
For more information about HubSpot's AI tools, refer to the AI model cards. Avoid using AI tools if you don't want the AI tools to process your Sensitive Data.
You can store sensitive information in any Data Center that you use.
If you have not indicated the storage of HIPAA data, you're eligible to migrate from a North America data center to the European Union data center. To access the migration functionality, Super Admins can opt into the Data center hosting location change for Sensitive Data public beta.
If you've indicated the storage of HIPAA data, you cannot migrate to another data center.
You can sync Sensitive Data through field mappings with data sync apps. When syncing data:
With the ability to store Sensitive Data in HubSpot, you can use HubSpot forms and non-HubSpot forms to collect sensitive information from your visitors confidently. Sensitive Data collected via forms will be encrypted and synced into the CRM securely. Any files uploaded via form submissions associated with a Sensitive Data property will also be considered sensitive.
Only users with the appropriate permissions to view Sensitive Data will be able to view form submission values and files marked as sensitive. All form submission notifications will also adhere to the Sensitive Data user permission requirements.
Developers can use the API documentation to build integrations that sync Sensitive Data. Per the Sensitive Data terms, if you choose to integrate with or otherwise use third party products in connection with the Subscription Service, you acknowledge that Customer Data hosted or processed by such Third-Party Products would be hosted in accordance with policies maintained by those third-parties.
If you’re storing HIPAA-protected Sensitive Data, the Snowflake Data Share integration is only supported for the following regions: AWS US_EAST_1 and AWS EU_CENTRAL_1.
Once Sensitive Data is turned on in your account, certain notifications will not include previews by default (e.g., a preview of a note body) to avoid displaying Sensitive Data. This will currently occur for the following notifications: you're @-mentioned on a record or in a comment, you're assigned or receive a reminder for a task, there's activity on a record you follow, or there's a comment on an activity you're involved in.
For email notifications, previews are hidden by default, but you can choose to allow them:
If you’re using a Sensitive Data property in workflows, it's recommended to limit access to the workflows tool because workflows don't currently enforce field-level permissions.
The following are not currently supported in workflows: