Knowledge Base

Disconnect your payment processor

Written by HubSpot Support | May 20, 2024, 4:00:00 AM

If you need to disconnect your payment processor, you can do so in the payment settings. The disconnection process differs slightly, depending if you are using Stripe as a payment processor, or HubSpot payments. 

Once disconnected, you're then able to connect to a different, or alternative payment processor. For example, if you initially set up Hubspot payments, you could disconnect HubSpot payments and then connect Stripe as a payment processor. Or, you could disconnect Stripe as your payment processor, and then set up a different Stripe account, or HubSpot payments. 

Below, read how to disconnect your payment processor.

Disconnect your Stripe account as a payment processor

If you choose to disconnect Stripe as your payment processor, please be aware of the following:

  • Customers won't be able to pay any existing payment links, quotes or invoices.
  • All subscriptions will be canceled and payments won't be collected.
  • You won't be able to issue refunds from HubSpot. Refunds will need to be issued from Stripe.
  • Payments data in HubSpot will be read-only.

To disconnect your Stripe account:

  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Payments. 
  • Click the Actions dropdown menu in the upper right, then click Disconnect Stripe.
  • A dialog box will open, detailing how your HubSpot account will be affected upon disconnection.

  • Click Disconnect Stripe to confirm disconnection.

If you would like to set up a new payment processor, you can set up a different Stripe account, or HubSpot payments.

Disconnect HubSpot payments (Starter, Professional or Enterprise only)

If you choose to disconnect HubSpot payments, please be aware of the following:

  •  Customers won't be able to pay any existing payment links, quotes or invoices.
  • All subscriptions will be canceled and payments won't be collected.
  • You won't be able to issue refunds from HubSpot.
  • Payments and payout data in HubSpot will be read-only.

To disconnect HubSpot payments:

  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Payments. 
  • Click the Actions dropdown menu in the upper right, then click Disconnect payments.
  • A dialog box will open, detailing how your HubSpot account will be affected upon disconnection.

  • Click Start chat support to start the disconnection process.
  • HubSpot support will then walk you through the disconnection process.

If you would like to set up a new payment processor, you can set up a Stripe as a payment processor or reconnect HubSpot payments.