Assets across HubSpot can be partitioned so that only the right teams and users can view and edit them. This can helpful if you want to keep your assets separated by department or team, and helps your users stay focused and organized.
To view a video series on asset partitioning, check out HubSpot Academy's asset partitioning lesson.
The assets that you can partition depends on your HubSpot subscription:
| Asset name | Hub |
|||
| Marketing Hub | Sales Hub | Service Hub | CMS Hub | |
| All accounts |
||||
| CRM records | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| CRM views | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Templates | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Conversations inbox | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Professional and Enterprise | ||||
| Templates | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| Sequences | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| Documents | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| Playbooks | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| Snippets | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | |
| Enterprise | ||||
| Dashboards | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Properties | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Record sidebars | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Blog posts | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| Domains | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| Website pages | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| Landing pages | ✓ | ✓ | ||
| ✓ | ||||
| Forms | ✓ | |||
| Calls-to-action | ✓ | |||
| Lists (BETA) | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Workflows (BETA) | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | |
| Email subscription preferences (BETA) | ✓ | |||
By default, newly created assets are accessible to all users that have permissions for the asset. However, you may want to only allow specific users or teams to create or edit assets. In your account settings, you can automatically restrict access to newly created assets so that only the asset creator, their team, and any of their parent teams, can view and edit them.
To automatically partition new assets:
Most tools can be partitioned by following the below steps. For dashboards, CRM views, and email subscription preferences, skip to the tool-specific section below.
The asset will now only be visible to the selected users and teams, and if applicable, their parent teams.
For the tools that don't follow the above instructions, you'll find the tool-specific instructions below.
By default, users can view and edit all contacts, companies, deals, and tickets. You can adjust a user's permissions so that they can only view and edit records owned by them or their team.
To partition CRM records for your users:
The updated permissions will take effect after the users log out then log back in. Learn more about user permissions.
Standard views cannot be partitioned, but custom CRM views can be set to be visible only to you, visible to your team, or visible to everyone.
To partition a CRM view:
After creating an inbox, you can edit which users and teams are able to view it by editing the inbox settings. Learn how to edit your inbox settings.
Dashboard owners can set which teams have view and edit access to custom dashboards.
To assign access to dashboards:
After creating a document, playbook, sequence, or template, you can set the level of access to be private to the owner, shared with everyone, or shared with specific users and teams.
Learn how to partition access to sales content.
By default, users with the Add and edit domains user permission can view and edit all domains, as well as publish content to all domains. To restrict which users can edit or publish content to particular domains, learn how to assign domain publishing permissions to teams.
You can customize the sidebars that appear on contact, company, deal, and ticket records so that different teams have different views. Learn how to personalize record sidebars for specific teams.
Super Admins can set which teams have visibility to which lists using the general instructions above.
When assigning access to a list, or enabling the default assignment setting, keep in mind the following:
Partitioning your email preference groups lets you control which teams can use which subscription types and office locations in marketing emails. When an email preference group is partitioned to a team, only that team will be able to select the preference group when composing an email.
To assign a preference group to a team:
Workflows can be assigned to a specific team from the workflows dashboard using the general instructions above.
Workflows assigned to a team can only be viewed and edited by users on that team. Any workflow that isn't assigned will be accessible to all users and teams with the workflows user permission.